The fun begins………

Evening folks it’s being a very interesting first week with my baba from sleepless nights to the stalk of the umbilical cord falling off, this first week has been a fun one!!.

Now colby has been remarkably well behaved for mummy and daddy apart from the first night when he just refused to sleep, but as it was his first night out of the womb I’m sure we can let it slide. Now thing with the first week I find it is more like an endurance and mental test than anything else, coffee really has become my new best friend but it’s important to keep calm and just crack on with it. We are lucky to have had not one but two visits from our midwife, the first time colby had only lost 0.9% of his birth weight and only two days later was right back to the 7.1 lb he had weighed at birth, this is also due to him being an absolute milk monster!. Starting on 1oz feeds 6days later is now on 2-3 oz feeds because well one just won’t cut it!!, At least that’s what I think he’s telling me when at 3am all I can here are his lips slapping together urging daddy or mummy to get up and deliver.

It really is amazing watching how much he has changed since last week, his eye colour is starting to tint blue rather than black, his hair growing and getting darker and the best part of all, his cord stump fell off which I promise is not for the faint hearted as it drys up into what looks like a piece of wood, it’s very important to keep that clean as infection is quite common and I can only imagine baby will let you know verbally that he/she is not happy about it. Colby’s stump fell off quite quick after only a few days but still keeping my eye on it just in case (can’t wait to see that little belly button).

Now as for the bowel movements and nappy change the first few really aren’t that bad to be totally honest, it’s a few days after when they what can only be described as exploding from the rear which makes for a lovely job in the early hours of the morning. He has also caught mummy and daddy off guard with the “fire hose effect”, it really is like it sounds!. Babies have a great sense of humour as they will wait whilst you remove the nappy before unleashing the fury upon you, you really do have to laugh though, especially when your special little person is lay there with the Cheshire Cat grin on their face!!, so be Prepared for that!. It has to be said though it’s all more than worth it!!, I love nothing more than seeing my tiny little man every day even if he does keep me awake at night!. Although when he does sleep daddy does like to keep an eye on him 😁.

That my friends is it for this blog, i will be back next week with tales of mischief and fun!!. Take care folks and have a good week!!

Leave a comment